Professional integration

FAST – Fast-track training in ICT, engineering & entrepreneurship

EPFL, in close association with ESP-UCAD, INP-HB and all its RESCIF partners, seeks to help close the gap in graduate employment by promoting FAST, a relevant, high-quality skills development in ICT, engineering and entrepreneurship to get young African graduates into jobs and viable self-employment.

FAST follows a revolutionary dual-training scheme based on online education and immersive company internships. Paid internships and free access to high quality educational content make it possible for every motivated and talented graduate to acquire the desired professional competencies

What ?

A pilot project of FAST is launched in Senegal and Cote d’Ivoire as of December 2016. It leverages the potential of MOOCs with local academic supervision and enterprise internships to offer a 2-month preparatory online self-study with 6-month immersive training and outstanding employment perspectives.
The first academic program to be offered is “Object-oriented programming in Java and Launching New Ventures”, totaling 390 hours of study or 13 ECTS credits. Local meet-ups and instructional workshops are organized to reinforce learning and skills acquisition.

How ?

The program leverages latest innovations in learning technology to select high potential candidates and accelerate learning at scale and cost effectively. Subdivided into three phases:

For whom ?

This program is particularly addressed to university graduates that are either unemployed or under-employed. Although it is open to all ages, priority will be given to the 22 – 28 years old graduates and a particular effort will be done to achieve a balanced gender distribution of FAST graduates.

Scheme and duration of training

 

Phase I:

3 months

Initial training is provided by MOOCs with online coaching and onsite tutoring. Students are evaluated through a proctored, onsite examination. Qualifying students are invited to a 3-day selection bootcamp, where learners’ profile — aptitude, technical competence and interpersonal skills are evaluated. Selected candidates enter into the enterprise immersion track.

Phase II:

6 months

Students enter into the immersive enterprise internship where they learn hands-on skills on the job, supported by training mentors. Mandatory workshops are organized to get learners together to support additional technical training, as well as soft-skills development. During the 6 months program, students must undertake and complete a personal project under the academic supervision of an instructor from the local partner university.

Phase III:

Graduation

At the end of the programs, students earn academic credits and a certificate delivered by EPFL or the local university partner. Graduates have the option to pursue a job opportunity with partner enterprises or with organizations outside the program’s network.

Advantages for students

  • Free access to MOOCs, online coaching and onsite tutoring for quick and efficient acquisition of theoretical bases.
  • Financial compensation during 6 months immersion program.
  • Enterprise mentors assigned to support in technical and soft skills development.
  • A career advisor to assist in job placement.
  • Certificates from EPFL or partner institution, with mention of total study hours and academic credits.

Advantages for enterprises

  • Access and develop a pipeline of skilled, prescreened candidates to accelerate growth.
  • Minimize recruitment mismatch and associated costs by selecting from a pool of familiar interns.
  • Access a pool of expertise to execute punctual enterprise development projects.
  • Bring in young people with diverse skills and mindset to enhance corporate innovation.

Insertion professionnelle

FAST – Une formation accélérée en TIC (Technologies de l’information et de la communication), ingénierie et entrepreneuriat.

L’EPFL, en étroite collaboration avec l’ESP-UCAD de Dakar, l’INP-HB de Yamoussoukro et ses partenaires du RESCIF, ambitionne de favoriser l’insertion professionnelle des diplômés africains en proposant FAST, un programme accéléré de développement des compétences de haut niveau en TIC, ingénierie et entrepreneuriat, pour permettre aux jeunes diplômés africains d’accéder à un emploi ou de créer une activité professionnelle indépendante et rentable.

Une formation innovante

FAST propose une formation duale innovante basée sur l’éducation en ligne et des stages d’immersion en entreprise. Grâce aux stages rémunérés et le libre accès au contenu éducatif en ligne de haute qualité, chaque diplômé motivé et talentueux peut acquérir les compétences professionnelles souhaitées.

Comment ?

Le projet pilote FAST démarre dès décembre 2016 au Sénégal et en Côte d’Ivoire. Il exploite le potentiel que représentent le catalogue des MOOCs, la supervision académique locale et les stages d’immersion en entreprise. Il propose un cursus d’étude préparatoire en ligne de 3 mois et 6 mois de formation immersive en entreprise offrant des perspectives d’emploi prometteuses.

Ce premier cursus académique s’articule autour de la « Programmation orientée objet en Java » et « Lancement de nouvelles entreprises» totalisant 390 heures d’études ou 13 crédits équivalents ECTS. Des rencontres sur place et des ateliers pédagogiques seront organisés pour renforcer l’apprentissage et l’acquisition de compétences.

Processus de sélection

Le programme s’appuie sur les dernières innovations en matière de technologie d’apprentissage pour sélectionner des candidats à haut potentiel et ainsi proposer une formation accéléré et avantageuse en trois phases:

Pour qui ?

Ce programme s’adresse principalement aux diplômés de niveau universitaire sans emploi ou sous-employés. Bien qu’elle soit ouverte à tous, la priorité sera donnée aux diplômés entre 22 et 28 ans avec une attention particulière portée vers une répartition équilibrée entre hommes et femmes.

Schéma et durée de la formation

 

Phase I:

3 mois

La formation de la phase initiale s’appuie sur les MOOCs, un coaching en ligne et un tutorat sur place. Les étudiants sont évalués grâce à un examen surveillé sur site. Les étudiants qui ont réussi cette première étape seront invités à participer à un stage de sélection de 3 jours où les divers profils seront évalués selon des critères d’aptitude, de compétences techniques et de capacités relationnelles. Les candidats ainsi sélectionnés se verront offrir un stage d’immersion en entreprise.

Phase II:

6 mois

Au cours du stage d’immersion en entreprise, les étudiants acquièrent des compétences pratiques en étant suivis par des mentors. Des ateliers de formation spécifiques sont organisés pour apporter aux apprenants des formations techniques supplémentaires et ainsi permettre le développement de nouvelles compétences.
En outre, pendant cette période de 6 mois, les étudiants devront entreprendre un projet personnel complémentaire sous la supervision académique d’un instructeur d’une université partenaire locale.

Phase III:

Diplôme

En fin de cursus, les étudiants auront obtenu des crédits académiques et un certificat de l’EPFL ou du partenaire d’une université locale. Les diplômés pourront choisir de prendre un emploi au sein de l’entreprise partenaire ou poursuivre leur carrière auprès d’une organisation extérieure au programme.

Avantages pour les étudiants

  • Libre accès aux MOOCs, au coaching en ligne et au tutorat sur place en vue de l’acquisition rapide et efficace des bases théoriques
  • Compensation financière pendant les 6 mois du stage d’immersion
  • Suivi en entreprise assurés par des mentors affectés au soutien du développement des compétences techniques et personnelles
  • Suivi par un conseiller en orientation et placement professionnels
  • Certificats de l’EPFL ou d’une institution partenaire, avec mention du nombre d’heures d’études et des crédits académiques

Avantages pour les entreprises

  • Développer et accéder à un réservoir de candidats compétents sélectionnés pour accélérer sa croissance
  • Réduire les recrutements inadéquats et les coûts en sélectionnant des personnes parmi un groupe de stagiaires familiarisés
  • Accéder à un bassin d’experts pour le développement de projets ponctuels de l’entreprise
  • Attirer des jeunes aux compétences multiples et une ouverture d’esprit aiguisée pour améliorer l’innovation en entreprise

PORTAIL ETUDIANT

S’inscrire En savoir plus

PORTAIL ENTREPRISE

Contactez-nous